Chris Christie: “I’m staying in NJ…which is fine…”

Posted on October 2, 2012

1


Gov. Chris Christie announced he is staying in New Jersey, even if Mitt Romney wins the presidential election.

“You’re stuck with me,” he joked, then the smile faded from his face and he stared off into the distance, ignoring other questions, for ten minutes.

Chris Christie tells listeners how being the governor of New Jersey is all he ever wished for.

Christie was an early supporter for Romney in the days before the primary when there were many Republican candidates sniping at each other. He stumped for the former governor of Massachussetts in several swing states and spoke at the Republican National Convention.

Before Paul Ryan was named, there was talk Christie could be Romney’s pick for vice presidential running mate.

“I love being governor of New Jersey. Why would I want to be vice president?” Christie asked, chuckling anxiously.

“This is my decision. I chose to stay,” he said. “I had a celebrated run as New Jersey’s attorney general. I could have been U.S. attorney general. I went to Israel to show my diplomatic abilities. I could have even been secretary of state.

“No. No. I’m staying in New Jersey. This is my home,” he said, sighing. “I’ve reached the height of my political career.”

 

Posted in: Politics